Foodie Friday – It’s the little things

Another week in Emley has come and gone. I have again stayed home more nights than I have gone out, but that is just fine with me. I’ve got some pretty amazing company and to me that matters a lot more than any crazy night out. It’s the little things like surprise champagne, mini holiday celebrations, and blissful reading in the sun that really tickle my fancy.

Don’t ask me why but I love a good cheap bottle of champagne. You could let me try a $200 bottle and a $15 bottle and I’m 99% sure that I would prefer the cheaper of the two. Like I said don’t ask me why, it is what it is. It also happens to be good for anyone who tries to wine and dine me because obviously I’d order a generally inexpensive drink. Needless to say I was quite pleased when Dan showed up with two bottles of Prosecco and a bar of chocolate, clearly he knows the way to my heart.

20140507-174529.jpg

Overall, I’ve been eating way too much chocolate. I just cant help myself. It’s so brilliantly delicious, Cadbury is my favorite… especially Cadbury with Ritz cracker in it (sadly that is not what I have pictured below).

20140507-174522.jpg

Monday was, as you know, Cinco de Mayo aka Cinco de Drinko! Unfortunately the British don’t use the day as an excuse to drink like we Americans do. However I am American and whether or not I am in America I will absolutely be getting my Margarita on on the fifth of May, and so I did. Costcos finest margarita ready-to-drink mix, with extra tequila (obviously), all drank by two people. The best part is I didn’t get a hangover the next day! I swear its all the tea I’ve been drinking.

20140507-174515.jpg

In between sun showers I found a bit of time to finish a book I’ve been reading and have some super noodles, aka ramen noodles. I love ramen noodles they’re a definite comfort food for me.

20140507-174508.jpg


My food finds weren’t exactly extravagant this week but that’s the whole point. It doesn’t matter what you’re eating or drinking. Humans often use eating and drinking as a time to socialize. Whether you are having a family dinner, meeting a friend for a drink, or going on that first date chances are you are using food as a catalyst for your social endeavor. Basically, what really matters is that I remember who I was with, what we were discussing, or what I was thinking during my food finds.

Happy Eating, Happy Friday.

-Ashley-

3 thoughts on “Foodie Friday – It’s the little things

Leave a comment